top of page
Mark Piggott




Mark Piggott is an award-winning fantasy author, Navy veteran, Whovian, and steampunk enthusiast.

Mark Piggott, a native of Phillipsburg, New Jersey, enlisted in the U.S. Navy in 1982, beginning a 23-year career. He served on four aircraft carriers and various duty stations as a Navy Journalist before he attained the rank of Chief Petty Officer. He retired from active duty in 2006. Mark currently works as a writer-editor for the Department of Housing and Urban Development. He and his wife, Georgiene, reside in Alexandria, Virginia. They have three children.

His first novel, Forever Avalon, was published in 2009, followed by his second novel, The Dark Tides, in 2014. The Outlander War: Book Three of the Forever Avalon series from Austin Macauley Publishing was released in 2020. In 2021, The Outlander War won second place for fantasy in the 2021 Firebird Book Awards, and his new fantasy adventure novel, The Last Magus, from, won first place for steampunk. He is currently working on the fourth book in the Forever Avalon series, The Prometheus Engine, and the next book in The Last Magus series, Dragonfire and Steel!

You can find out more about Mark at his website here.

Gothic Cathedral

What got you into writing?

"I started writing in high school, but I really started it as a career when I joined the U.S. Navy as a Navy Journalist. I spent twenty-three years writing news and feature stories for the Navy, but I didn't start developing my fantasy writing until I began writing my first novel, Forever Avalon, in 2001. My stories developed from my love of Dungeons and Dragons and being deployed away from my family. I started having recurring dreams of being with my family on a magical island. During my last deployment, I started writing it down and developing my story. The funny thing is that when I finished it, I stopped having the dream."

—Mark Piggott

Rey Wicks

David Turton

bottom of page